A map of Métis territory sparks reactions online

A new map showing Métis Territory is drawing the ire of First Nations people who live there because it completely covers three provinces, merges into two more and includes part of the Northwest Territories.

The map adopted by the Métis National Council includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and also covers northeastern British Columbia and southwestern Northwest Territories and Ontario.

Shortly after the map's release, comments flooded social media emphasizing that “the bruise” is encroaching on other First Nations' lands and that what is “claimed” there does not belong to the Métis.

A question of identity, not country

Andrea Hunt

Twitter enthusiast. Organizer. Explorer. Reader. Zombie aficionado. Tv specialist. Thinker. Incurable internet maven.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *