Canada’s Walk of Fame | Avril Lavigne, Rick Mercer and Connor McDavid were inducted Saturday night

(Toronto) Pop-punk icon Avril Lavigne reflected on the humble beginnings of her more than 20-year singing career before she was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame at a gala organized in Toronto on Saturday evening.

The singer-songwriter of the song Sk8um Boi said it was meaningful to receive this honor to honor his roots in Canada. She began singing in Napanee, Ontario and won a competition to perform with Shania Twain in Ottawa before ushering in an era of pop-punk music in the early 2000s.

Canadian presenter George Stroumboulopoulos, who introduced his star, said Avril Lavigne had a great influence on many children who grew up and saw themselves in her and that it was time to give her flowers.

Canada’s Walk of Fame celebrates its 25th anniversarye Anniversary, honors Canadians for their outstanding achievements in areas from entertainment to humanitarian work.

Hip-hop singer Kardinal Offishall is this year’s recipient of the Allan Slaight Music Impact Honor Award.

Host and political satirist Rick Mercer and hockey star Connor McDavid are among those who will be inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame at a special gala at the Metro Toronto Convention Center on Saturday evening.

The actress Tantoo Cardinal, who we have seen mainly in American films Flower Moon Killer Directed by Martin Scorsese, this year’s additions also include Roots Canada co-founders Michael Budman and Don Green. The television franchise Degrassi: The Next Generation is also part of the lot.

“During the 15 years that I had the TV show, I got off the subway and walked to the CBC, and I walked part of the Walk of Fame and said hello to some people,” Rick Mercer said its immortalization in Toronto’s entertainment district.

“I think things like this happen and it’s natural to wonder if it’s over now. But I have a few tricks up my sleeve. »

It will also celebrate 13 of the most influential rock music legends of the ’70s and ’80s, including Glass Tiger, Loverboy and Michel Pagliaro, who were inducted into the Walk of Fame at a special event in September.

Saturday night’s gala will be hosted by Drew and Jonathan Scott property brothers and Juno Award-winning singer Deborah Cox, who received a star on the Walk of Fame last year.

The gala on the 25the The Canadian Walk of Fame anniversary will air on CTV on December 16th.

Earl Bishop

Thinker. Professional social media fanatic. Introvert. Web evangelist. Total pop culture fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *