Mathieu Betts was named CFL Defensive Player of the Year

Quebecer Mathieu Betts of the British Columbia Lions won the Outstanding Defensive Player award.

Quebecer Mathieu Betts of the British Columbia Lions won the Outstanding Defensive Player award.

The defensive lineman had 18 sacks, a record in CFL history for a Canadian player. He also tackled 44 opponents – including three for losses – caused three fumbles and blocked a punt.

Betts became the sixth Canadian to win the title and the first since Alex Singleton in 2017.

“This season I didn’t set a goal for sacks and receiving this award,” Betts said. My mindset in 2024 will be similar when it comes to bags. If it happens, I will be happy, but I won’t look for it.

A record season

Quarterback Chad Kelly would swap places with running back Brady Oliveira.

Kelly was named Canadian Football League (CFL) MVP ahead of Oliveira at the season-ending awards ceremony on Thursday. But on Sunday, it will be Oliveira and his Winnipeg Blue Bombers who will take part in the Gray Cup game against the Montreal Alouettes.

Of course we would like to be in the Gray Cup game, but the past is the past,” said Kelly. You win some games and lose others. You’d love to win them all, but that’s life.

I went further. I know what I need to improve.

Oliveira didn’t leave the awards ceremony empty-handed as he was named Canadian Player of the Year ahead of Alouettes safety Marc-Antoine Dequoy.

Oliveira led the CFL with 1,534 rushing yards. He scored nine touchdowns and helped the Blue Bombers to first place with a 14-4 record. He added 38 catches for 482 yards and four majors.

“It means everything to me,” Oliveira said. I’m a proud Canadian living a childhood dream by playing for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, my hometown.

But the work is not yet finished.

Kelly was a key player in the Argonauts’ 16-2 record, which tied the CFL record and set a record in Argonauts history.

He has won 15 of the 16 games he has started this season.

In his first season as a starter, he completed 270 of 394 passes for 4,123 yards and 23 touchdowns while running for eight more for 248 yards. He was the victim of 12 interceptions.

He became the first winner of the George Reed Most Outstanding Player Award, renamed in honor of the former Saskatchewan Roughriders star who died last month.

“I am honored to be part of the inaugural George Reed Prize,” said Kelly. Obviously, his legacy is present throughout the CFL and will live on forever.

Argonauts cornerback Quan’tez Stiggers was named Most Outstanding Rookie. He was one of four other Argonauts players recognized for their work.

Stiggers had a team-high five interceptions and 56 tackles in 16 games. The Argonauts’ defensive unit led the team with 27 steals, 22 forced fumbles and 15 fumbles.

Dejon Allen then received the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman award. The Argonauts allowed 19 sacks, fewer than any other team.

Returnee Javon Leake was recognized for his performance on the Toronto club’s special teams. He led the league with 81 punt returns for 1,216 yards. He scored four touchdowns, one less than the CFL record.

Ryan Dinwiddie was ultimately named Coach of the Year after leading the Argonauts to a 16-2 record.

The vote was conducted between Canadian journalists and the nine CFL head coaches.

Darren Pena

Avid beer trailblazer. Friendly student. Tv geek. Coffee junkie. Total writer. Hipster-friendly internet practitioner. Pop culture fanatic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *